15th Air Force General Orders

Submitted by:


The 15th Air Force General Orders identify members of the 99th Fighter Squadron that received the Air Medal.

The Air Medal is a military decoration of the United States Armed Forces. It was created in 1942 and is awarded for single acts of heroism or meritorious achievement while participating in aerial flight

Air Medal recipients were:

  1. Wendell M. Lucas
  2. Gentry E. Barnes
  3. Harold H. Brown
  4. John H. Chavis
  5. John W. Davis
  6. Wendell W. Hockaday
  7. George J. Isles
  8. Daniel L. Rich
  9. James A. Wilson
  10. Robert A. Pillow

Bronze Oak Leaf Cluster. Criteria: Exclusively administered by the U.S. Army and Air Force (with the exception of Department of Defense awards), the Oak Leaf Cluster device is used to denote subsequent awards of a particular military decoration. Multiple Oak Leaf Clusters indicate the number of decorations received. Bronze Oak Leaf Clusters are given for the second and subsequent awards.

Second Oak Leaf Cluster recipients were:

  1. Emile G. Clifton, Jr.
  2. Vincent I. Mitchell

Third Oak Leaf Cluster recipients were:

  1. George E. Gray
  2. Lewis W. Craig
  3. Milton S, Hays

Fourth Oak Leaf Cluster recipients were:

  1. Clarence W. Dart
  2. Marion R. Rodgers

Fifth Oak Leaf Cluster recipients were:

  1. William A.Campbell

Learn more about the Tuskegee Airmen!